First page of the Operation Sessions archive.

[CFF] (electric) winter steam

Posted by Gerd on Sunday, 17 January 2021 with 4 Comments

[CFF] Der letzte Holzzug der Saison

Posted by Gerd on Saturday, 26 December 2020 with 2 Comments

Operating my garden logging railroads

Posted by Gerd on Tuesday, 13 October 2020 with 2 Comments

Hi folks, last weekend, a friend and model railroad came for a visit and we operated my garden logging railroads for a full day. First, we ran the Romanian style rolling stock “CFF Romania”. Later we switched the rolling stock for my Louise Valley Lumber equipment. The day ended with BBQ and campfire. Regards, Gerd

[LVLC] Into the woods with Shay #1

Posted by Gerd on Tuesday, 26 May 2020 with 3 Comments

Hello followers, today, I’ll show you one kind of operation concept that I use for my US style logging railroad on my garden railroad layout. First some fictional facts for today: – The mainline between Ronja Springs and the wye is called to be a steep grade, which allows only 4 logcars per train. – […]

[CFF] First operation session with the new siding

Posted by Gerd on Tuesday, 12 May 2020 with 6 Comments

Today, we’re back in Romania again, operating the first trains after installing the new siding in the upper section of the garden. At the beginning, the locos are made ready for todays service. Resita 764-467 will run the main line today, while Krauss 763-237 is back-up loco. The first train of empty log cars is […]

[CFF] spring operation sessions

Posted by Gerd on Thursday, 23 April 2020 with 3 Comments

Hello folks, here are some photos of this springs Romanian railroad action on my garden railroad. Some of the pictures are actually “historic” since I started some rebuild this week on the upper section of the railroad. Details may follow here on the blog next week. Bye, Gerd

[Garden Railroad] Aerial view of my garden railroad

Posted by Gerd on Thursday, 16 April 2020 with 6 Comments

Hello, since I started with my garden railroad, I had the idea to make an aerial view video from the roof above the terrace. As our tree in the garden got trimmed last week, this was the best time to make the movie. Cheers, Gerd

[LVLC] First MoW train on the garden railroad

Posted by Gerd on Tuesday, 10 March 2020 with 3 Comments

Hello garden railroaders, last weekend, Shay #6 headed out into the woods with a short MoW train. After the winter break, the MoW crew was looking for bad spots on the main line which will need repairs before the new season will start. Fortunately, there are only small issues along the tracks. Additional, the track […]

[CFF] Resita 764-467 back in service

Posted by Gerd on Sunday, 15 September 2019 with 1 Comment

Hi folks, after the crash of my Resita loco some weeks ago, it took only a few days to get the rough warp repaired, but it took several more days to get the loco back into perfect operational condition. In the past days, I disassembled and re-assembled the loco several times, fixing many small issues […]

[LVLC] Shay Days 2019

Posted by Gerd on Sunday, 1 September 2019 with 1 Comment

Hello Shay lovers, on July 17th, Ephraim Shay would have celebrated his 180th birthday. His birthday is celebrated each year at Harbor Springs during the “Shay-Days”. I jumped on the event at my garden railroad and operated my live steam Shay with some ordinary supply and freight trains. Here’s a collection of photos, taken during […]

First page of the Fahrbetrieb archive.

[CFF] (elektrischer) Winterdampf

Posted by Gerd on Sonntag, 17 Januar 2021 with 4 Comments

[CFF] Last log train of the season

Posted by Gerd on Samstag, 26 Dezember 2020 with 2 Comments

Ein Waldbahn-Spieltag im Garten

Posted by Gerd on Dienstag, 13 Oktober 2020 with 2 Comments

Hallo liebe Waldbahnfreunde, letztes Wochenende hatte ich Besuch von einem Modellbahn-Kollegen und wir haben einen Tag lang auf meiner Garten-Waldbahn Betrieb gemacht. Zunächst mit meiner rumänischen CFF Romania. Im Anschluss dann mit der amerikanischen Louise Valley Lumber Co. Der Tag endete mit Grillen und Lagerfeuer. Grüße, Gerd

[LVLC] Ins Holz mit Shay #1

Posted by Gerd on Dienstag, 26 Mai 2020 with 3 Comments

Hallo liebe Waldbahnfreunde, heute kommt nun der schon ersehnte Teil zu einem möglichen US-Waldbahn-Konzept auf meiner Gartenbahn. Zunächst die fiktive Faktenlage: – Der Streckenabschnitt vom unteren Bahnhof bis zum Gleisdreieck wird als Steilstrecke betrachtet. Auf diesem Abschnitt darf die kleine Shay #1  max. 4 Skeleton-Logcars befördern. – Der obere Teil im Rasenbereich hingegen erlaubt Züge […]

[CFF] Erster Fahrtagseinsatz mit der neuen Betriebsstelle

Posted by Gerd on Dienstag, 12 Mai 2020 with 6 Comments

Heute sind wir wieder mit der rumänischen Waldbahn unterwegs und testen die neue Betriebsstelle aus, die ich letzte Woche vorgestellt habe. Zu Beginn machen sich die Loks Resita 764-467 und Krauss 763-237 im Ausgangsbahnhof bereit. Den Streckendienst wird die Resita heute übernehmen. Mit dem ersten leeren Zug macht sie sich auf den Weg zum Gleisdreieck […]

[CFF] – Frühlingsfahrten

Posted by Gerd on Donnerstag, 23 April 2020 with 3 Comments

Hallo Waldbahnfreunde, hier mal wieder ein Fahrtagsbericht von meiner rumänischen Waldbahn. Teils sind die Bilder schon wieder als historisch anzusehen, denn seit dieser Woche wird oben an der Strecke gebuddelt und gebaut. Was genau, dazu gibt’s hoffentlich in der kommenden Woche ein kleines Update. Grüße, Gerd

[Gartenbahn] nachgereichtes Oster-Schmankerl

Posted by Gerd on Donnerstag, 16 April 2020 with 6 Comments

Hallo Waldbahnfreunde, ich hatte schon länger die Idee ein Video mit Luftaufnahmen meiner Gartenbahn zu machen. Da kürzlich unser Baum frisch gestutzt wurde war die Gelegenheit günstig. Grüße, Gerd

[LVLC] Erste Streckenerkundung nach Winterpause

Posted by Gerd on Dienstag, 10 März 2020 with 3 Comments

Hallo Waldbahnfreunde, letztes Wochenende ist die Shay #6 der Louise Valley Lumber Co. mit einem kurzen Arbeitszug auf Streckenerkundung ausgerückt. Nach der Winterpause gibt es dieses Jahr nur wenig Reparaturbedarf an der Strecke. Zeitgleich wurden neue Streckenerweiterungen ausgekundschaftet. Mal schauen was diesen Sommer noch so alles passieren wird. Auf der Rückfahrt wurde die Lok wie […]

[CFF] Resita 764-467 wieder Betriebsfähig

Posted by Gerd on Sonntag, 15 September 2019 with 1 Comment

Hallo, nachdem der „grobe“ Schaden des Absturzes recht schnell behoben war, so hat es dann doch noch einige Tage gedauert, bis die Lok endlich wieder richtig rund lief und dem regulären Betriebsdienst übergeben werden konnte. In den letzten Tagen wurde die Lok mehrfach wieder zerlegt und es wurden weitere verbogene Teile gerichtet um einen sauberen […]

[LVLC] Shay Days 2019

Posted by Gerd on Sonntag, 1 September 2019 with 1 Comment

Hallo Waldbahnfreunde, am 17.7. wäre Ephraim Shay 180 Jahre alt geworden. Jedes Jahr finden am Wochenende nach seinem Geburtstag in Harbor Springs die „Shay-Days“ statt. Aus diesem Anlass hatte auch ich auf meiner Gartenbahn meine Echtdampf-Shay im Einsatz. Hier reiche ich euch die Bilder nach die dabei entstanden sind. Meine kleine Shay hatte einiges zu […]