The “Yellow Pine Lumber Co.”

Starting in the late 19th century, a huge number of small lumber and timber operations started work in the so-called “Carolina Sandhills”. The geography of these area lead into huge timber stands of long leaf, or yellow pines. Beside classic lumbering, may trees were farmed for turpentine and tar, which was heavy requested from naval stores. Many of those logging operations were short living. Once an area was cleared, the companies moved on or cheased operation. Often, the equipment got sold to the next timber operation. There were also a huge number of so called “tram roads”, which used wooden rails instead of common steal. Many used oxen or horses as motive power, but some of them featured Shay locomotives as well. Some of these small operations turned into bigger companies later on, while some are still in place like the Aberdeen & Rockfish RR.

But most interesting to me were those wooden tram roads. Lima in Ohio build special locomotives with extrawide wheels and deep flanges to run on wood rails. The book series “Railroading in the Carolina Sandhills” lists many of such operations with details about gauge and motive power with reference to Shay locos. After some research through the books and other sources, I found a well matching prototype, which I’ll cover in this model railroad project.

The “Yellow Pine Lumber Co.”

This operation was founded in 1893. There are no photos available, but several records of the owners, equipment bought and the location. The Shay records name cn#433 to be used on this timber tram road, which was build to uncommon 30″ gauge, while most other lines were 34″ or 36″ gauge. There has been only two 30″-gauge Shays operating in North Carolina (#433 & #270). Regarding #433, class, type and gauge are matching my tiny TomaModelWorks Shay perfectly.

As said before, there are no photos or further details known, so I can spend some of my own imagination to bring a piece of early sandhill logging back to live in model scale.

Die „Yellow Pine Lumber Co.“

Ab dem späten 19.Jh. entstanden in den sogenannten „Sandhills“ von Nord und Süd-Carolina zahlreiche kleine Waldbahnen. Die geographische Beschaffenheit der Sandhills hatter hier dichte und reine Kiefernwälder wachsen lassen. Neben Schnittholz wurde aus dem Harz der Kiefern auch Terpentin, Kolophonium und Teer gewonnen, die im Schiffsbau sehr gefragt waren. Viele dieser Waldbahnen waren nur wenige Jahre in Betrieb, bis ein Waldstück ausgebeutet war. Entweder zog die Gesellschaft weiter, oder das Material wurde an eine andere verkauft. Ein weiterer Teil dieser Waldbahnen, oft als Tramroads bezeichnet, nutze statt Lokomotiven Tiere zum Ziehen von Wagen. Aus mancher kleinen Bahn sind später große Eisenbahnlinien entstanden oder solche, die noch heute existieren wie z.B. die Aberdeen & Rockfish RR.

Ganz besonders faszinierend waren aber die sogenannten Tramroads, deren Gleise komplett aus Holz gebaut waren. Statt der sonst üblichen Eisen oder Stahlschienen wurden Holzbalken verwendet. Eigens für diesen Zweck wurde von Lima in Ohio kleine Shay-Lokomotiven gebaut, die extrabreite Laufflächen und hohe Spurkränze aufwiesen. In den Büchern „Railroading in the Carolina Sandhills“ sind unzählige solcher Bahnen gelistet. Nach eingehender Recherche habe ich mich für eine ganz besondere Bahn entschieden, die ich als Vorbild für mein Modellbahnprojekt verwenden möchte.

Die „Yellow Pine Lumber Co.“

Diese kleine Waldbahn wurde um 1893 gegründet. Es gibt zwar keine Bilder, aber Aufzeichnungen Beständen, Anschaffungen und so weiter, die über die Geschichte der Gesellschaft Aufschluß geben. So ist z.B. belegt, daß eine Shay mit Baunummer #433 dort eingesetzt wurde, welche für eine Spurweite von 30″ gebaut wurde. Es gab nur zwei 30″-Shays die in den Sandhills eingesetzt wurden (#433 & #270). Damit ergibt sich für mich das passende Vorbild zu meiner kleinen TomaModelWorks-Shay.

Da es keine Bilder von Strecke, Sägewerk und Fahrzeugen gibt bleibe ich in der Modellumsetzung weitestgehend frei und kann mir eine typische kleine Waldbahn der Anfangszeit um 1895 aufbauen.