The “Louise Valley Lumber Co.”

The free-lance “Louise Valley Lumber Company”, located somewhere in California between El Dorado and the High Sierra, never was one of the big logging companies. It was founded to bring logs from the Louise Valley in the hills north of Ronja Springs to the factory of “Woods Furniture”

The lumber company operated a small double-circular saw and plank mill in Ronja Springs. Most of the rough cut lumber got processed directly by “Woods Furniture” near by. Beside the sawmill, the railroad had a small rail yard with crude and simple loco facilities. At the end of railroad, a small logging camp was build which became known as “Feddy Grove”.

When the railroad began operation in the early 1900’s, the line used 2nd hand Class A Shays. When the train loads got heavier, two of them got replaced by bigger Shay and Climax locos. Starting in 1930, the old wood burning locos got all replaced by also 2nd hand oil-burners.


Of the original Class A Shays used by the LVLC in the early days, only engine #2 survived. As written above, the others got replaced by Climax #4 and Shay #5, to haul heavier trains out of the woods. While #4 and #5 hauling the log trains, Shay #1 was kept as backup loco and operated freight, switching and MOW service on the railroad.

Engines 4 & 5 are Bachmann models, equipped with Deltang and batteries. The small Class A Shay is a live steam model by Accucraft. All got weathered and detailed to my special favour.

The second generation of motive power actually features two oil-burning Class C 3-truck Shays. Once is made by Bachmann Spectrum, the other one was built by Aster in Japan from brass and steel for LGB in 1996. Both are equipped with Deltang and LiPo batteries. Both locos will get an airbrush weathering and details soon.

To haul logs out of the woods, I have 5 20′ skeleton log cars in service at the moment, but I like to build some more. To bring freight and equipment to the camps, the railroad also has some 16′ freight cars as well as a workshop car and a short waycar.

All rolling stock is homemade from wood and metal parts (Ozark, homemade brass parts). The run on die-cast trucks with metal wheels.

Die „Louise Valley Lumber Co.“

Die fiktive „Louise Valley Lumber Company“ war ein Holzfällerbetrieb von eher mittlerer Größe und versorgte in erster Linie die Möbelfabrik „Woods Furniture“ in Ronja Springs. Das Einschlaggebiet der Baumstämme zog sich entlang dem Louise Valley in den Hügeln nördlich von Ronja Springs.

Der Betriebsmittelpunkt befindet sich rings um das kleine Sägewerk in Ronja Springs, nahe der Möbelfabrik. Das Sägewerk ist mit einer großen Doppel-Kreissäge ausgestattet, sowie einer Brettsäge. Die Louise Valley Lumber Co. produziert überwiegend Rohholz, welches direkt in der Möbelfabrik weiter verarbeitet wird. Am Endpunkt der Strecke wurde später ein Camp für die Waldarbeiter errichtet, welches als „Feddy Grove“ bekannt wurde.

Der Bahnbetrieb begann um 1900 mit holzgefeuerten Waldbahnlokomotiven der Bauart Shay & Climax. Auf Grund der Streckenführung wurden überwiegend kurze Wagen eingesetzt. Ab 1930 wurden dann die alten holzgefeuerten Lokomotiven gegen gebrauchte Shays mit Ölfeuerung getauscht.


Die ersten Lokomotiven der LVLC waren 2 mit Holz gefeuerte Class A Shays. Lediglich die #1 ist noch heute in Betrieb. Da die kleinen Loks für den Streckendienst zunehmend zu schwach waren, wurden sie später durch Climax #4 und die große Shay #5 abgelöst, während Shay #1 weiterhin für Rangierarbeiten, Bauzüge oder als Reservelok genutzt wurde.
Lok 4 und 5 sind Modelle von Bachmann und wurden auf Deltang und Akkubetrieb umgebaut. Die kleine Class A-Shay ist ein Echtdampfmodell von Accucraft.

Die zweite Generation an Lokomotiven umfaßt aktuell zwei Class C 3-truck Shays. Eine kommt von Bachmann, die andere ist ein Metallmodell von Aster/Japan, 1996 gebaut für LGB in limitierter Stückzahl. Beide Loks sind mit Deltang und LiPo-Akkus ausgerüstet und sollen in Kürze noch eine Airbrusch-Alterung und Zurüstteile erhalten.

Für den Transport der Baumstämme stehen aktuell 5 20′ Skeleton Logcars zur Verfügung, 5-10 weitere Wagen sind in Vorbereitung. Für den Güterverkehr kommen kurze 16′ Güterwagen zum Einsatz, außerdem verfügt die Bahn über je einen Werkstattwagen und einen kleinen Caboose.

Alle Wagen werden selbstgebaut und bestehen überwiegend aus Holz und Beschlägen aus Weißmetall (Ozark) oder Messing (Eigenbau). Auch die Drehgestelle und Achsen sind aus Metall um den Wagen ein gutes Gewicht zu geben.