First page of the Operation sessions archive.

[MLC] Zürich “Tüffenwies” 2018

Posted by Gerd on Tuesday, 22 May 2018 (Comments Closed)

Hello,

with a one week delay, I’m happy to show you my latest videos from our 2018-trip to Zürich in Switzerland. As each year, the Swiss Dampf-Modell-Club holds a 4-day meet around the Ascension day. We had a great time there and meet a lot of friends and enjoyed the very nice layout which is still growing each year.

This year, I focused on movie clips instead of photos. Ans as I’ve posted many regular movies of my running trains, I decidede to spend more attention to the steps before the train is running.

Cheers, Gerd

[MLC] 5″-gauge season 2018 got started

Posted by Gerd on Tuesday, 1 May 2018 with 1 Comment

Hello,

last week, in I started into the 5″-gauge live steam season 2018. In preparation, I made a new cart for loading the loco. I got a scissor lift table and spend some modification to make is fit the large steam locos. As before, the locos are rolled up from the workshop on a wooden ramp. The new lift table makes it very easy to handle the loco in the yard and finally to load to the transport rack in the car. Now the fun starts already while loading the locos ;-)

Pre-steam-up at Karlsruhe

Let’s go for some rides. The first steam up was on the layout in Karlsruhe, where I met  Jonas Sommer. We had the whole layout alone and enjoyed a very nice day, running our steam locos. Once my Shay was awakened from the winter sleep, she performed very well. It was great to run the trains very slow, without all the other trains around. The Shay pulled a short supply train to the logging camp.

Jonas was running his steam loco “Susi”, which pulled a string of cars modelled after the  Internationalen Rheinregulierungs-Bahn (IRR). From the same prototype, he build the red loco “Heidi” several years ago. Actually he builds a new version of this loco with proper dimensions by using original plans.

“2018 Season start” at the DBC Rhein/Main at Gustavsburg.

Last Sunday, I attended the official season start at our club layout near Mainz. The day started with rain, but close to High Noon, it became a warm and sunny day. Engine #1 pulled a string of empty log cars along the line. Unfortunately, I don’t have a log load anymore for my cars…

Bye, Gerd

[MLC] Forney steam up with issues

Posted by Gerd on Tuesday, 5 September 2017 (Comments Closed)

Good morning, end of august, I visited our live steam club layout. Since I had a few operation sessions with the Shay this year, I decided to run the Forney this time. At least, I struggled with some injector issues and after four laps, I had to pull the fire, since I was not able […]

[MLC] Operation session at Gustavsburg

Posted by Gerd on Tuesday, 11 July 2017 with 1 Comment

Hi folks, after a long break, I visited our club layout with the new Moody Lumber Co. I had a supply and work-train with me, hauled by the Shay. The Shay improved very well, strong and powerful, while smooth running. Since I was the only loco on the inner loop, I could run very slow […]

[MLC] Children’s treat at Böchingen

Posted by Gerd on Tuesday, 6 June 2017 with 1 Comment

Last Sunday, we host a big children’s treat in my home village in celebration of our 1250th anniversary. Beside several games and Böchingen’s well known cake buffet, my 5″-gauge live steam railroad became the highlight, not only for the kids. Many elder visitors were fascinated by the steam railroad as well as some of them […]

[MLC] Daylight for MLC Shay #1

Posted by Gerd on Monday, 29 May 2017 (Comments Closed)

Hi folks, last week, I made a simple ramp-construction to get my 2″-scale Shay out of the workshop to the daylight. Since the derailment last year, which caused huge damage to the steam engine, the loco was steamed up for the first time on Thursday. The Shay worked well and there’s only one issue left, […]

[BCRR] – First run of the Forney after overhaul

Posted by Gerd on Monday, 1 August 2016 with 1 Comment

Hello BCRR friends, yesterday, we ha a public operation day at our club layout. We made a family trip and I took the Forney with us for a test run after its overhaul. Our little Ronja was fascinated by the large loco. She likes to ring the bell. At the club layout, we set up […]

[BCRR] – As guest at the famous 5″-gauge layout at Zurich (Swiss)

Posted by Gerd on Monday, 9 May 2016 with 1 Comment

Hello, last weekend, we visited the steam-model-club of Switzerland with their famous 5″-gauge layout at Zurich. This year, we had mixed local train behind our Shay instead of the log train wich we used to run in the past. The weather was very nice and we had a very good time… until Saturday… The loco […]

[BCRR] – Review of the 20th Live Steam Indoor Meet

Posted by Gerd on Friday, 15 January 2016 with 1 Comment

Good morning, with a couple of days delay, here’s my review of the 20th Live Steam Indoor Meet in Germany from the past weekend. All in one, it was a nice event, but we had some issues this time. As usual, we had some new details at the show as every year. Jonas brought his […]

[BCRR] The layout for the 2016 live steam show

Posted by Gerd on Sunday, 20 December 2015 (Comments Closed)

Hello logging railroaders, this week, we spend two days at the convention center at Karlsruhe to set up our 2″-scale logging railroad for the 2016 live steam show. As every year, we did some changes to the track plan and added some new structures and details. We got a new “industrial spur” for wood dump […]

First page of the Fahrtage archive.

[MLC] Zürich „Tüffenwies“ 2018

Posted by Gerd on Dienstag, 22 Mai 2018 with No Comments

Hallo,

mit einer Woche Verspätung kommt heute endlich der Bericht von unserem diesjährigen Besuch beim Dampf-Modell-Club der Schweiz in Zürich. Über das Himmelfahrtswochenende waren wir für 4 Tage vor Ort und haben zum einen die tolle Gastfreundschaft, aber natürlich auch die schöne Anlage genossen.

In diesem Jahr habe ich mich wieder verstärkt auf das Filmen konzentriert. Da ich schon viele Filme von meinem fahrenden Zug eingestellt habe, liegt das Augenmerk diesmal beim Aufrüsten und Anheizen.

Grüße, Gerd

[MLC] 5″-Saisonauftakt 2018

Posted by Gerd on Dienstag, 1 Mai 2018 with 1 Comment

Guten Morgen Fangemeinde,

letzte Woche war für mich der Saisonstart mit der 5″-Waldbahn. Vorbereitend für die neue Saison habe ich mir eine neue Verladehilfe „gebastelt“. Auf einen kleinen Hubtischwagen habe ich ein Gleis montiert und den Griff versetzt, so daß ich hierauf nun meine 5″-Lokomotiven bewegen kann. Wie zuvor werden die Loks über eine Rampe aus dem Keller gerollt, können nun aber mit dem Hubtisch exakt auf die Höhe des Transportgestells im Auto gehoben und verladen werden. Das ganze geht sehr schnell und einfach von der Hand. So wird bereits das Verladen der Lok zum Spaß ;-)

Vorauftakt in Karlsruhe

Nun geht’s aber auf Strecke – Die erste Fahrt fand bereits am Donnerstag statt. Ich hatte mich mit Jonas Sommer auf der Anlage in Karlsruhe verabredet. Hier konnten wir zu zweit einen ganzen Tag Spielen und hatten sehr viel Spaß. Nachdem meine Shay aus dem Winterschlaf erwacht war lief sie zu meiner vollsten Zufriedenheit. Am Haken hatte sie einen Versorgungszug für die Waldbahncamps.

Jonas hatte seine „Susi“ angeheizt und zog seinen Zug mit Wagen nach Vorbild der Internationalen Rheinregulierungs-Bahn (IRR). Von dieser Vorbildbahn hat Jonas vor einigen Jahren auch die Lok „Heidi“ gebaut, welche aktuell nach Originalplänen komplett neu gebaut wird.

„Andampen 2018“ beim DBC Rhein/Main in Gustavsburg.

Am letzten Sonntag stand dann das „Andampfen“ im Verein in Gustavsburg an. Der Tag begann zwar mit Regen, wurde dann aber ab halb 12 richtig schön. Diesmal durfte Shay #1 einen Zug mit leeren Disconnects ziehen. Leider habe ich keine Baumstammladung mehr für die Wagen.

Grüße, Gerd

[MLC] Fahrtag mit Hindernissen

Posted by Gerd on Dienstag, 5 September 2017 (Comments Closed)

Guten Morgen, im August war ich mal wieder zum Fahrtag beim DBC-Rhein-Main in Gustavsburg. Da ich dieses Jahr schon ein paar mal mit der Shay gefahren bin, wollte ich meine Forney mal wieder laufen lassen. Leider hat mir der Injektor aber einen Strich durch die Rechnung gemacht. Er wollte nicht richtig durchdrücken und ich hatte […]

[MLC] Fahrtag in Gustavsburg

Posted by Gerd on Dienstag, 11 Juli 2017 with 1 Comment

Hallo Freunde, nach einer langen Pause habe ich es endlich mal wieder zu einem Fahrtag in Gustavsburg geschafft. Es war richtig schöne die Vereinskollegen nach langer Zeit wieder zu treffen. Ich hatte einen Arbeits- und Versorgungszug meiner neuen Moody Lumber Co, dabei, gezogen von der frisch reparierten Shay. Da ich den einzigen Zug auf dem […]

[MLC] Böchinger Kinderfest

Posted by Gerd on Dienstag, 6 Juni 2017 with 1 Comment

Am Pfingstsonntag fand im Rahmen der 1250-Jahr-Feierlichkeiten in Böchingen das Kinderfest auf der Freizeitanlage statt. Als besondere Attraktion war ich mit meiner 5″-Dampfeisenbahn mit dabei. Nicht nur bei den Kindern kam die Eisenbahn gut an. Auch viele „große Kinder“ waren von der Technik fasziniert und viele hatten eine solch große Modellbahn noch nie gesehen. Alles […]

[MLC] Endlich mal wieder am Tageslicht

Posted by Gerd on Montag, 29 Mai 2017 (Comments Closed)

Hallo Waldbahnfreunde, am Himmelfahrts-Donnerstag habe ich meine 5″-Shay mal wieder ans Tageslicht geholt. Und zwar wörtlich gemeint. Dazu wurde ein einfaches Rampensystem geschaffen, mit dem ich die Lok sehr bequem aus dem Keller heraus auf meinen Transportwagen bzw. weiter ins Auto verladen kann. Am Donnerstag wurde die Shay dann auch zum ersten Mal seit der […]

[BCRR] – Erste Probefahrt mit der Forney

Posted by Gerd on Montag, 1 August 2016 with 1 Comment

Hallo Waldbahn-Freunde, gestern war wieder Fahrtag beim DBC Rhein-Main in Gustavsburg und wir haben einen kleinen Familienausflug gemacht. Unsere kleine Ronja war schon ganz hibbelig als sie die große Lok in der Werkstatt sah. Und das Läuten der großen Glocke klappt schon sehr gut. Vor Ort in Gustavsburg wurde der Zug aufgegleist und die Lok […]

[BCRR] – Zu Gast in Zürich/Tüffenwies

Posted by Gerd on Montag, 9 Mai 2016 with 1 Comment

Hallo, vergangenes Wochenende waren wir wieder zu Gast beim Dampd-Modell-Club Schweiz auf deren wundervollen Anlage an der Tüffenwies in Zürich. Dieses Jahr hatten wir zwar keinen Regen und durchgehend strahlenden Sonnenschein, dafür gab’s am Samstag eine schwere Entgleisung der Shay auf einer defekten Weiche. Die Schäden an der Lok konnten vor Ort nicht behoben werden […]

[BCRR] – Eindrücke vom EDHT 2016

Posted by Gerd on Freitag, 15 Januar 2016 with 1 Comment

Guten Morgen, etwas verspätet habe ich heute einige Eindrücke vom 20. Echtdampf-Hallentreffen für euch. Alles in allem war es wieder ein gutes Treffen, auch wenn es hier und da etwas geklemmt hat. Wie in jedem Jahr hatten wir auch diesmal wieder viel neues auf der Anlage zu zeigen. Mit den Holzkastenkippern von Jonas konnte die […]

[BCRR] Aufbau für’s EDHT 2016

Posted by Gerd on Sonntag, 20 Dezember 2015 (Comments Closed)

Hallo Waldbahn-Freunde, heute habe ich einen ersten Vorgeschmack auf das Echtdampf-Hallentreffen 2016 in Karlsruhe. Diese Woche fand der Aufbau der Gleisanlagen statt. Auch wir waren zwei Tage vor Ort und haben unsere Waldbahn aufgebaut. Wie jedes Jahr wurde der Gleisplan wieder etwas abgewandelt, es gibt einen neuen „Industriezweig“ und es wird neues Dekomaterial geben, welches […]