First page of the Layout construction archive.

landscape gardening

Posted by Gerd on Tuesday, 27 April 2021 with 2 Comments

Hi folks,

actually, the railroad projects are on hold, as we start work to rearrange the lower portion of the garden. In the past weeks, I moved a lot of stones and earth.

The space below the railroad station will be covered with wood to store crates of rolling stock and kid toys. The ground in front will get filled up to level the lawn and off course, new grass will be installed as well. To support the new layer of dirt, I added a dry wall from sandstone.

There were some more corners, which need some attention. I added slices of sandstone to an old concrete wall. Once dry, I’ll cut off the excess on top and create more weatherproof storage capacity here.

Most stone work is done. So, the next weeks, I’ll install the storage shelfs and dig over the ground for further processing.

Cheers, Gerd

[Garden Railroad] Railcar turntable

Posted by Gerd on Tuesday, 20 April 2021 with 3 Comments

Hi folks,

time for a new update here on my blog. my Romanian style logging railroad operates a rail car, rebuild from a an old Russian Wolga. Out “in the woods” the railcar is turned on the wye, but down in Ronja Springs, there was no turning facility available. The real rail cars often featured a turning device to lift the car off the rails on any location. But this is hard to model in scale, especially in a functional way.

When looking through my books, I spotted a special kind of railcar turntable used on the CFF Teregova line. This would be the perfect turntable device for my lower station.

I found some low-pro brass rails and some brass pieces in my scrap-box. I made a cut through the foot of the rail, bend it down, soldered it together and milled the lower section of the tips flat to create a little ramp.

I use soft-solder to join the parts together. After a balance test, I added the pin to the center brackets. For the layout, I made a small socket from round bar and brass sheet. This socket is located near the water tower, at the switch to the loco maintenance spur.

The turntable track is placed beside the rails when not in use. Now the rail car can be turned before heading backwards into the storage spur. BTW, the Krauss loco also fits this turntable, but might be way to heavy in relation to the rails used. The Resita loco also fits, but there’s not enough space to turn her around.

We also started some garden work at the lower portion of the garden, so railroad projects are on the backlist at the moment. But I’ll keep you updated.

Another good news – I finally found a layout concept for my Hon30 battery Shay “Gopher” – so stay tuned.

Bye, Gerd

[Garden Railroad] A new siding and log landing

Posted by Gerd on Tuesday, 5 May 2020 with 4 Comments

Hello my friends, today I like to solve the open question from last week, regarding the dead-end photo. Since last year, I was looking for an additional log landing side as well as run-around siding. Basically it’s possible to turn trains on the wye, but especially on my Romanian rolling stock, I take care to […]

[Garden Railroad] Trees in the garden

Posted by Gerd on Tuesday, 28 April 2020 with 7 Comments

Hello folks, I got some remarks, that my “forestry railroad” is missing trees. As my wife has reorganized the flower boxes along the house, I was able to get two small conifers, which got planted at the wye. One of them was very dry, let’s wait if it will come back to live. When we […]

[Garden Railroad]

Posted by Gerd on Thursday, 4 July 2019 with 1 Comment

Hi folks, as shown in my new video a few days ago, I finished the mainline on my garden railroad. Shay #7 got the honor to deliver the last section of track, including the “golden rail joiner” to close the loop in the upper garden. I spend a lot of thoughts for the final route, […]

[garden railroad + CFF] Romanian logging trains

Posted by Gerd on Monday, 1 July 2019 with 3 Comments

Hello, a few days ago, I finished my garden railroad nearly by accident. I took me some while to find the final track plan, but once chosen, the tracks were laid within two days. I look forward to post a more detailed blog article soon. Anyhow, here’s a new movie from my railroad, not only […]

[Garden Railroad] More progress done…

Posted by Gerd on Tuesday, 18 June 2019 (Comments Closed)

Hello garden railroaders, it’S time to share some hews from my garden railroad. First of all, I operated some trains with my 3-truck Shays. Since I finished the new log cars, I can run two full trains. Last time, I extended the tracks on the left of the garden and now the rails have reached […]

[Garden Railroad] Unexpected track extension

Posted by Gerd on Thursday, 6 June 2019 with 5 Comments

Hello logging and garden railroaders, this week, I’m a bit late with the update, but I’ve some news on the garden railroad tracks for you. I spend a lot of thoughts about some kind of a continuous run in the upper garden to have the possibility of “long distance” runs. I took the level and […]

“Veggie Corner” and garden shed

Posted by Gerd on Tuesday, 28 May 2019 with 1 Comment

Well, this might not be related to “logging railroads”, but it’s an important step into further extensions of the garden railroad. My wife asked for a raised bed for veggies and we also wanted a garden shed for tools and stuff in the back of the upper garden. The raised bed is homemade from stock […]

[Garden Railroad] Grass is growing at Ronja Springs

Posted by Gerd on Tuesday, 9 April 2019 with 1 Comment

Hello folks, since I missed to post an update last week, here’s the latest progress on my garden Railroad. Last year, I did some experiments with some cheap artificial grass on my layout which was not the beet one. This year, I found a new material with nice grasses which looked much more promising. So […]

First page of the Anlagenbau archive.

Garten- und Landschaftsbau

Posted by Gerd on Dienstag, 27 April 2021 with 2 Comments

Hallo Waldbahnfreunde,

die Modellbahn-Projekte stehen aktuell ein wenig im Hintergrund, da wir den unteren Teil unseres Gartens neugestalten wollen. In den letzten Wochen war ich schon schwer aktiv und habe viele Steine bewegt und verbaut.

Der Bereich unter dem Bahnhof wird noch mit einer Holzablagefläche versehen, auf der künftig meine Fahrzeugkisten und Kinderspielsachen verstaut werden können. Den Sockel Das Gelände davor wird noch mit Erde aufgefüllt und soll dann einen neuen Rasen bekommen. Um das aufgefüllte Gelände abzufangen wurde noch eine Stufe aus Sandstein aufgesetzt.

Desweiteren wurden einige Randsteine gesetzt und der alte Betonsockel unter dem Anheizgleis mit Sandsteinscheiben verkleidet. Wenn der Zement abgebunden hat werden die Steine oben bündig abgeschnitten und auch hier eine wettergeschützte Abstellmöglichkeit geschaffen.

Die meisten Steinarbeiten sind nun erledigt. In den nächsten Wochen muß nun der Boden weiter aufbereitet werden, damit wieder Gras wachsen kann. Und ich möchte zeitnah die Abstellflächen fertig bauen.

Grüße, Gerd

[Gartenbahn] Draisinen Drehscheibe

Posted by Gerd on Dienstag, 20 April 2021 with 3 Comments

Hallo Waldbahnfreunde,

anbei mal wieder ein kleiner Bastelbericht. Meine rumänische Waldbahn setzt für Personentransporte und Inspektionsfahrten einen umgebauten Wolga ein. Dieser kann „draußen in den Wäldern“ am Gleisdreieck gewendet werden. Im Talbahnhof hingegen fehlte eine Wendevorrichtung. Die Vorbildfahrzeuge haben oft einen Fuß zum Hochbocken des Autos, so daß es an jeder beliebigen Stelle gedreht werden kann. Doch dies wäre im Modell nur schwierig umsetzbar.

Beim Blättern in meinen Waldbahnbüchern bin ich dann über eine Auflege-Drehscheibe bei der Waldbahn von Teregova gestolpert. Das war die perfekte Lösung für meine Gartenbahn.

Aus alten Regner-Feldbahn-Profilen und Messing aus der Restekiste wurde der Gleisrahmen zusammengelötet. Die Spitzen der Gleise wurden zunächst eingeschnitten, abgeknickt und verlötet, bevor sie dann auf der Unterseite plan gefräst wurden.

Nach einem ersten Ballance-Test wurde der Drehzapfen am Rahmen montiert. Nun fehlte nur noch die passende Aufnahme. Auch diese wurde aus MS-Blech und ein wenig Rundmessing hergestellt und an der Weiche nahe des Wasserturms eingebaut.

Der Drehrahmen liegt neben den Gleisen bereits und kann bei Bedarf eingesetzt werden. Übrigens paßt auch die Krauss-Lok ohne Probleme auf die Drehscheibe. Bei der Resita wird es dann doch etwas sehr knapp mit dem Schwenkbereich.

Ansonsten sind wir gerade mit Gartenarbeiten beschäftigt. Daher sind die Modellbahnprojekte etwas hinten angestellt. Aber ich werde bei Gelegenheit berichten.

Außerderm habe ich nun doch noch ein Anlagenkonzept für meine kleine Akku-Shay „Gopher“ gefunden. Auch hier zu gegebener Zeit mehr ;-)

Grüße, Gerd

[Gartenbahn] Neue Betriebsstelle eingerichtet

Posted by Gerd on Dienstag, 5 Mai 2020 with 4 Comments

Hallo Freunde der Waldbahnerei, heute kommt die Auflösung zur offenen Frage im letzten Beitrag und was es mit dem vermeintlichen Gleisrückbau zu tun hat. Schon länger fehlte mir oberen Bereich der Anlage eine Umsetzgelegenheit bzw. eine weitere Ladestelle. Das Umsetzen im Gleisdreieck war zwar grundsätzlich möglich, aber teilweise auch umständlich, besonders wenn man bei den […]

[Gartenbahn] Neuer Wald

Posted by Gerd on Dienstag, 28 April 2020 with 7 Comments

Hallo Freunde der Waldbahnerei, es wurde immer mal wieder bemerkt, daß es an meiner Waldbahn kaum Bäume gibt. Als meine Frau die Blumenkästen am Esszimmer neu bepflanzt hat fielen zwei kleine Koniferen ab, welche nun am Gleisdreieck ein neues Heim gefunden haben. Ich hoffe daß beide angehen, denn einer war schon sehr trocken. Wir werden […]

[Gartenbahn] Die Grundstrecke ist fertiggestellt.

Posted by Gerd on Donnerstag, 4 Juli 2019 with 1 Comment

Hallo Garten- und Waldbahnfreunde, wie im Video Anfang der Woche bereits berichtet, habe ich den grundlegenden Streckenbau auf meiner Gartenbahn vollenden können. Shay #7 wurde die Ehre zuteil das letzte Gleisstück zum Lückenschluß inkl. dem „goldenen Schienenverbinder“ an die Baustelle zu transportieren. Nach langem Überlegen habe ich die Option ‚hinter dem Gartenhaus durch zu fahren‘ […]

[Gartenbahn + CFF] rumänischer Waldbahnbetrieb

Posted by Gerd on Montag, 1 Juli 2019 with 3 Comments

Hallo Waldbahnfreunde, in den letzten Tagen habe ich eher überraschend meine Gartenbahnstrecke fertiggestellt. Seit dem bin ich viel am Fahren und Spielen im Garten. Einen weiterführenden Bericht für den Blog werde ich hoffentlich in den nächsten Tagen noch einstellen können. Hier gibt’s nun erstmal einen Waldbahnfilm mit meinen rumänischen Modellen. Nicht nur um die Strecke […]

[Gartenbahn] Weiter geht’s…

Posted by Gerd on Dienstag, 18 Juni 2019 (Comments Closed)

Hallo Gartenbahnfreunde, es ist Zeit euch mal wieder ein Update meiner Gartenbahn zu zeigen. Zunächst gab es etwas Waldbahnbetrieb mit den großen Shays. Dank der neuen Wagen können jetzt auch zwei Züge eingesetzt werden. Nachdem ich ja die Strecke auf der linken Seite schon ein Stück erweitert hatte, ging es nun weiter bis hinauf zum […]

[Gartenbahn] Unerwarteter Streckenausbau

Posted by Gerd on Donnerstag, 6 Juni 2019 with 5 Comments

Hallo Wald- und Gartenbahnfreunde, diese Woche mit etwas Verspätung kommt nun ein kleines Update zur Gartenbahnstrecke. Der Gedanke an einen möglichen Rundkurs im oberen Garten für „längere“ Fahrstrecken ließ mir keine Ruhe, so daß ich mit Wasserwaage und Zollstock die ominöse Steigung hinter dem Gartentürchen vermessen habe. Am Ende war ich mir ziemlich sicher, daß […]

Hochbeet und Gartenhaus

Posted by Gerd on Dienstag, 28 Mai 2019 with 1 Comment

Okay, das hat nun nichts direkt mit Waldbahn zu tun, aber für den weiteren Ausbau der Gartenbahn waren einige Vorarbeiten unabdingbar. Das Hochbeet entstand natürlich in Eigenleistung aus Baumarkt-Material. Hier werden künftig Radieschen, Möhrchen und anderes leckeres Gemüse wachsen. Gleich im Anschluß ging es an das Thema „Gartenhaus“ ran. Da das Gelände hier leicht abfallend […]

[Gartenbahn] Frühlingsgras in Ronja Springs

Posted by Gerd on Dienstag, 9 April 2019 with 1 Comment

Hallo Waldbahnfreunde, nachdem letzte Woche der Beitrag ausgefallen ist gibt’s heute wieder neue Bilder von der Gartenbahn. Ich hatte vor einiger Zeit schon mal mit „Nadelfilz-Rasenteppich“ im Bereich des Wasserturms experimentiert, war mit dem Ergebnis aber nicht sehr zufrieden. Nun fiel mit ein Stück Kunstrasen in die Hände, der einen ganz anderen Eindruck macht. Das […]