First page of the – Uncategorized archive.

[Waldbahn Gazette] More of my old N-scale WSLCo

Posted by Gerd on Tuesday, 2 October 2018 with No Comments

Hello,

I got some mails last week regarding some more information about my old N-scale rolling stock modelled after the famous West Side Lumber Co. Since the original website has gone, here are some photos of the model I build back in time and which all got sold away some years ago.

Two make the three 3-truck-Shays, I butchered five of the great Atlas N-scale Shays. Three of them got shortened for the power chassis and shells, the others were used for spar trucks and parts to make the tender extensions. I modelled the prototype engines #9, #12 and #14.

Beside the locos, I made a whole bunch of cars as well. Most of them the typical skeleton logcars, but also a large number of freight cars, tank cars and caboose. All cars were made from cnc-milled styrene and separate details parts. They used trucks and couplers from Microtrains. Over all, I made 52 cars, some of them are shown here as examples.

And of course, I also spend time on layouts as well. Most ideas never came to any build-status, but two attempts were actually made. Unfortunately, both layout attempts got scrapped and all the rolling stock sold. More about the layout I had started will be shown next week.

Bye, Gerd

[Waldbahn Gazette] West Side Lumber Co. Heisler #2 in N-scale

Posted by Gerd on Tuesday, 25 September 2018 with 1 Comment

Hello logging railroaders,

at the moment, I struggle with some issues on my garden railroad project. It seems that I have just to many different projects and ideas going on, and I’ve to sort them out in those I can realize on my railroad, and those I should try to stop before it’s to late. So I use todays issue on my blog for another “Waldbahn Gazette”-post.

In the years between 2005 and 2008, I modelled a huge number of West Side Lumber Company related rolling stock in N-scale. While the prototype was narrow gauge, I modelled everything in 125% scale and operated them on std. gauge. Based on the very well made Atlas N-scale Shays, I made three 3-truck-Shays after WSLC prototype as well as 60+ cars and several structures. One masterpiece was the 4th engine, Heisler #2, which was entirely scratchbuild from brass some details parts and a KATO chassis for power. I sold this Heisler in 2008/9 as well as all other WSLC-stuff when I started construction of my 2″-scale Shay.

This project was brought back to mind this morning, when I read the sad news, that the owner has passed. His friend contacted me in search of details on the models. I searched my files and found the photos above and thought it would be nice to share this wonderful model with you as well. Remember, it’s N-scale and a unique jewel. I was glad to hear that this loco is still around and in good working condition.

Regards, Gerd

Vacation time !!!

Posted by Gerd on Wednesday, 18 July 2018 (Comments Closed)

Hi folks, we just returned from a spontaneous short vacation trip yesterday evening, so I don’t have any news to show on the blog this week. But I got some new ideas for future projects. So please stay tuned and see you next Tuesday as usual with some new logging railroad updates. Gerd

“Homework” and workshop update

Posted by Gerd on Tuesday, 19 June 2018 with 1 Comment

Hello followers, in the past two weeks, I finished some very important steps which I postponed way to long. As we bought our new house, the back side above the porch roof wasn’t finished. I covered the section up with wood in clapboard style. It took me two days and was worth the effort. There […]

The Waldbahner-Gazette #2 – „Waldbahn im Casanital“

Posted by Gerd on Tuesday, 12 June 2018 (Comments Closed)

Hello logging railroaders, at a model railroad show in Mannheim in January, I meet Daniel from Mannheim, which has watched my videos on Youtube about my Hon30 logging railroad modules. He was fascinated by the concept and design and told me that he’s going to build his own railroad soon. Now I’m happy to show […]

Important Hint for subscribers !!!

Posted by Gerd on Friday, 25 May 2018 (Comments Closed)

Unfortunately, I lost all followers during the reason changes on my Blog. If your interested in further weekly blog updates, please subscribe again at the bottom right menu. Many thanks !!! Gerd

Technical updates (GDPR)

Posted by Gerd on Wednesday, 23 May 2018 (Comments Closed)

Hi followers & readers, two sleepless nights and some grey hairs lay behind me, but I finally managed to do some important updates on my blog. First of all, my blog is now SSL-encrypt and I spend some attention to the actual data protection rules. Finally I was able to reactivate the blog-comments as well […]

Changes on my Blog due to GDPR

Posted by Gerd on Thursday, 17 May 2018 with 1 Comment

Hello logging railroaders, I’m not sure if all of my English-speaking readers are aware of the new General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) in Europe. Actually nearly any publisher of internet content is affected and it’s hard to obtain the rules to stay clean with the law. After some research, I learned that my WordPress-Blog is […]

The Waldbahner Gazette #1 – “Galgenberg Waldbahn”

Posted by Gerd on Tuesday, 10 April 2018 with 3 Comments

Hello friends of logging and forestry railroading and welcome to a new category here on my Blog. The “Waldbahn Gazette” will show you reports from other model railroaders, which are modelling logging railroads or related stuff. I got this idea while I talked to some new model railroaders, which started to build their own layout, […]

Merry Christmas and a Happy new year !!!

Posted by Gerd on Sunday, 24 December 2017 with 2 Comments

Hi folks, which all of you peacefull christmas days as well as a good start into the next year. Stay healthy and keep on model railroading !! Gerd

First page of the – Allgemeines archive.

[Waldbahn Gazette] West Side Lumber Co. Heisler #2 in Spur N

Posted by Gerd on Dienstag, 25 September 2018 with No Comments

Hallo Waldbahnfreunde,

im Moment geht es mit meinen Gartenbahnen nicht so richtig voran. Ich habe mich da etwas verzettelt und bin gerade schwer mit mir am hadern, wie ich da jetzt weiter machen soll. Daher nutze ich aus gegebenen Anlaß mal wieder die Zeit für eine Ausgabe meiner „Waldbahn Gazette“.

In den Jahren 2005-2008 habe ich damals an einer Spur N Variante der wohl bekannten West Side Lumber Co. gearbeitet. Auf Basis der wundervollen N-scale Shay von Atlas entstanden drei 3-truck Shays nach Vorbild der WSLC und ich habe um die 60+ Wagen selber gebaut sowie Gebäude und auch einige Anlagenversuche. Ein Meisterstück innerhalb dieses Projektes war die 4. Lok im Bunde, eine Heisler. Diese entstand komplett im Eigenbau aus Messing, einigen Zurüstteilen und einem Kato-Chassis für die Antriebskomponenten. Das Modell habe ich irgendwann 2008/9 verkauft, als ich mit dem Bau meiner großen Shay begonnen habe.

In Erinnerung gerufen wurde mir das Projekt heute morgen, da der Käufer des Modells leider verstorben ist und sein Nachlassverwalter auf der Suche nach weiteren Informationen zu dem Modell war. Immerhin freut es mich zu hören daß diese Lok immer noch existiert und wohl auch noch sehr gut läuft.

Grüße, Gerd

Ausstellung der H0e-Waldbahn Eusserthal im Oktober in Ludwigshafen

Posted by Gerd on Dienstag, 11 September 2018 with No Comments

Hallo liebe Waldbahnfreunde,

am Samstag, den 13.10.2018 findet im Rhein-Nekar-Raum eine „Lange Nacht der Modellbahn“ statt. In diesem Rahmen wird unter anderem meine H0e-Waldbahn zusammen mit drei weiteren Waldbahnen in Ludwigshafen-Mundenheim ausgestellt.

Ich freue mich auf euch,

Gerd

Urlaubszeit !!!

Posted by Gerd on Mittwoch, 18 Juli 2018 (Comments Closed)

Hallo Waldbahnfreunde, keine Sorge, mir geht’s gut ;-) Wir kamen erst gestern Abend aus dem spontanen Kurzurlaub zurück, daher habe ich diese Woche nichts waldbahniges für euch. Dafür habe ich wieder einige neue Ideen im Kopf, die auf ihre Umsetzung warten. Also noch ein paar Tage durchhalten und kommenden Dienstag geht’s wie gewohnt weiter. Grüße, […]

„Hausaufgaben“ und Werkstatt-Update

Posted by Gerd on Dienstag, 19 Juni 2018 with 1 Comment

Hallo liebe Waldbahnfreunde, in den letzten beiden Wochen habe ich einige sehr wichtige Aufgaben erledigt, die ich teilweise schon sehr lange vor mir her geschoben habe. Dazu gehörten die letzten Aufgaben rings ums Haus die noch zu erledigen waren. Oberhalb der Terrassenüberdachung fehlte z.B. noch die Fassadenverkleidung. Hier wurde kurzerhand eine Holzfassade davor gebaut. Nach […]

Die Waldbahn-Gazette #2 – „Waldbahn im Casanital“

Posted by Gerd on Dienstag, 12 Juni 2018 (Comments Closed)

Hallo liebe Waldbahnfreunde, bei der Modellbahnausstellung „Lok trifft Traktor“, an der ich dieses Jahr mit meiner Modellstraßenbahn teilgenommen habe, habe ich Daniel aus Mannheim kennen gelernt. Er hatte schon vorher meine H0e-Waldbahn-Module auf Youtube entdeckt und hatte angekündigt bald auch mit dem Bau einer Waldbahn anzufangen. Heute freue ich mich, euch die ersten Bilder von […]

Wichtiger Hinweis für Abonenten !!!

Posted by Gerd on Freitag, 25 Mai 2018 (Comments Closed)

Leider sind bei der Umstellung alle gespeicherten Follower meines Blogs verloren gegangen. Wenn du weiterhin über meine wöchentlichen Blogeinträge informiert werden möchtest, dann registriere dich bitte unten rechts neu. Vielen Dank !!! Gerd

Technische Aktualisierungen (DSGVO)

Posted by Gerd on Mittwoch, 23 Mai 2018 (Comments Closed)

Hallo liebe Waldbahnfreunde, zwei schlaflose Nächte und etliche graue Haare liegen hinter mir, daher ich habe es dann doch noch geschafft. Der Waldbahner-Blog kommt nun für euch SSL-verschlüsselt und ich habe die wesentlichen Punkte gemäß der neuen Richtlinien umgesetzt. So ist es mir möglich die Kommentarfunktion, Blog-Abos und das Kontaktformular weiterhin anzubieten. Die aktuallisierten Datenschutzerklärung […]

Anpassung des Waldbahner-Blogs an die neue EU-DSGVO

Posted by Gerd on Donnerstag, 17 Mai 2018 with 1 Comment

Hallo Waldbahnfreunde, sicher hat der eine oder andere schon von der EU-Datenschutzgrundverordnung gehört, welche aktuell so ziemlich jeden Anbieter von Internet-Content betrifft und es scheint schwer zu sein den neuen Vorgaben gerecht zu werden. Nach einiger Recherche ist auch mein WordPress-Blog aktuell nicht DSGVO-konform wie es so schön heißt. Da ich diesen Blog als Hobby […]

Die Waldbahn-Gazette #1 – „Galgenberg-Waldbahn“

Posted by Gerd on Dienstag, 10 April 2018 with 3 Comments

Hallo Waldbahnfreunde und herzlich Willkommen zu einer neuen Kategorie hier in meinem Blog. In der „Waldbahn Gazette“ möchte ich hin und wieder über Waldbahnen anderer Modellbahnkollegen berichten und deren Werke vorstellen. Diese Idee kam mir in Sinsheim, als ich weitere Kollegen kennen lernte, die nach Vorbild meiner H0e-Waldbahn eine eigene Anlage bauen oder planen. Wenn […]

Frohe Weihnachten und einen guten Rutsch!!!

Posted by Gerd on Sonntag, 24 Dezember 2017 with 2 Comments

Hallo Waldbahnfreunde, ich wünsche euch allen besinnliche Weihnachtstage und einen guten Rutsch ins neue Jahr. Bleibt gesund und habt Spaß an der Modellbahnerei ;-) Gerd