First page of the Layout construction archive.

[YPLC] Final scenery on the microlayout.

Posted by Gerd on Tuesday, 1 June 2021 with 3 Comments

Hi folks,

after the video presentation of last week, here’s the final building log of this micro layout. Each segment is 75mm wide and the backdrop 60mm high, while the track length is approx 3′. To make the backdrop, I searched the internet for a good photo of sandhill forests. With simple graphic tools, I made a long backscene by copy/paste and mirror-function. The backdrop is than printed on sticker paper on a color laser printer to be glued to the backdrop.

Small hills on the layout are created with foam and spackle. The lower portion was milled into the 8mm thick baseboard.

After a coat of acrylic paint, I glued the ties in place and covered them immediately with sand. I use white glue for this step. Further layers of sand are glued down with water/whiteglue-mixture. The rails themself are added once the ground cover was finished. I also sanded the ties flat on top for smooth operation of the log train.

The rails are made from 1×1.5mm basswood and glued down with super glue every 4th tie. I made small gauges from brass to ensure the correct gauge of 9mm.

To add more interesting to the scenery, I made some relief trees from Woodland branches on real wood logs. The stumps are also Woodland white metal castings. With the relief trees, the layout gained more depth. It’s also nice to watch the train passing underneath the leaves.

At the right end of the line, I installed a log deck from timbers and logs.

Finally, I added the vegetation from different FineTurfs and grasses, made by Woodland and Busch.

I used water/whiteglue mixture to glue the turf down and regular glue for bushes and grass. I spend effort to blend the vegetation into the same colors as used on the backdrop.

Well, this was my second Microlayout in 2021. Now it’s time to get back to the larger scales. There’s a full list of ideas and a well filled parts-box on the shelf. At least, the warmer weather calls for mode garden railroading ;-)

Cheers, Gerd

[YPLC] The “Yellow Pine Lumber Company”

Posted by Gerd on Tuesday, 25 May 2021 with 4 Comments

Howdy folks,

as this layout features some special feature, I decided to present you the final layout today. Once you know the final details, this movie might become somewhat unspectacular. Enjoy!!

The Yellow Pine Lumber Co. was founded in 1894 at Hoffman in North Carolina. The railroad operated two lines. The first one down into the south, later a new line to the north east was build. The original ROW is still visible in form of roads today. This railroad operated on the rare gauge of 30″ and owned one of only two 30″-gauge Shays in the Sandhills region. Therefore, this was a perfect match for my little Toma Shay.

As usual, my micro layout is dedicated to the prototype, but no accurate model of any prototype situation.

Cheers, Gerd

[YLPC] Scratchbuild Water tower

Posted by Gerd on Tuesday, 18 May 2021 with 2 Comments

Hi folks, while adding landscape scenery, I came to the idea to add a small water tower for the Shay locomotive. I collected some scrap wood and called my dad to 3D print his On30 water spout in half size. Base of the tank is piece of round wood, bored on the lathe to get […]

[YLPC] Sawmill second part

Posted by Gerd on Tuesday, 11 May 2021 with 6 Comments

Welcome back to the second part. The sawmill got placed on the first segment. The ties for the further tramroad are also placed into the sandy ground of the Sandhills. With the mill in place, I started to add the final components and details. To add the roofs, I used 0.4mm plywood instead of cardboard […]

[YPLC] A new timber railroad adventure just begins

Posted by Gerd on Tuesday, 4 May 2021 with 2 Comments

Hi folks, after many ideas and withdrawn plans, I finally found a way to build a timber-tramroad layout to run my little Toma-Shay. The layout is designed in 3 segments and will show a fresh started logging operation in the late 19th centuray, out in the Carolina Sandhills. I found an old diecast kit of […]

[WBE] The new module is done

Posted by Gerd on Tuesday, 6 March 2018 with 9 Comments

Hello folks, just in time for the model train show starting on Friday, the new module got finished. I added the backdrop and some small details. I’m very pleased with the result, which turned out better than expected. I’ll build a transport-crate for the new module this week and the whole layout will travel to […]

[WBE] detail work and lots of boards…

Posted by Gerd on Tuesday, 27 February 2018 with 5 Comments

Well, the most work is done… Since I got the landscape and flora done last week, I just finished the last huge step, detailing the sawmill-area. I also printed the name plate, which is shown in German here. There’s also an English version printed. The stacks of boards and timbers are made from balsa wood […]

[WBE] Weir, trees and grasses…

Posted by Gerd on Tuesday, 20 February 2018 with 6 Comments

Hello, the last week, I’ve build the weir for the water-wheel and added it to the canal. Since the time is running by very quick, I directly planted the trees to get the progress continue. The next evening, I started with the bushes and grasses. It took some time to get the whole layout covered, […]

[WBE] Ballast and first greens

Posted by Gerd on Tuesday, 13 February 2018 with 2 Comments

Hello again, another week has passed. I added the ballast to the tracks as well as basic green ground cover I use. The ballast is spread out dry along the rails. I use a mixture of Noch model train ballast with sand and fine turfs. Once the ballast is done, I moisture everything with rubbing […]

[WBE] Wires and hills

Posted by Gerd on Tuesday, 6 February 2018 with 5 Comments

Hello, another week has passed. Once the electrical stuff was done, I gave the rails an airbrush weathering and spend a light grey dry-brush to the sleepers. To raise the hills, I glued some layers of foam (used for house insulation) to the layout and cut them to shape. I use a wire-brush in the […]

First page of the Anlagenbau archive.

[YPLC] Die finale Ausgestaltung der Anlage

Posted by Gerd on Dienstag, 1 Juni 2021 with 3 Comments

Hallo Leute,

nach dem Video von letzter Woche möchte ich heute die restlichen Arbeiten an der kleinen Anlage zeigen. Die einzelnen Segmente sind 75mm tief und die Kulisse 60mm hoch, bei einer Streckenlänge von ca 920m. Für den Hintergrund habe ich mir im Internet ein geeignetes Bild gesucht und am PC durch Kopieren und Spiegeln zu einer langen Kulisse zusammengefügt. Diese Kulisse wurde dann mit einem Farb-Laserdrucker auf Etikettenbögen gedruckt und auf die Kulisse aufgeklebt.

Für die Landschaft wurden kleine Hügel aus Styrodur aufgeklebt und mit Spachtelmasse überzogen. Die kleine Vertiefung wurde in die 8mm starke Bodenplatte eingefräst.

Der Grundanstrich wurde mit Abtönfarben aufgetragen. Danach folgte das Aufkleben der Schwellen und der ersten Lage von feinem Sand. Weiterer Sand wurde dann mit Wasser/Weißleim-Gemisch verklebt. Die Schienenprofile wurden erst nach dem Aufkleben des Sandes montiert. Zuvor wurden die Schwellen nochmal auf gleiche Höhe geschliffen.

Zum Verlegen der Gleise aus 1×1,5mm Lindenholzleisten habe ich mir einfach Spurlehren aus Messing angefertigt. Die Schienen sind alle 3-4 Schwellen mit Sekundenkleber verklebt.

Für den Landschaftsbau kam mir die Idee Relief-Bäume vor die Kulisse zu stellen. So fährt der Zug unter dem Laubdach hindurch und die Anlage bekommt deutlich mehr Tiefe. Die Baumstümpfe stammen ebenfalls von Woodland, ebenso die Äste und das Grün. Die Stämme kommen aus dem Garten.

Am rechten Streckenende wurde noch die Verladerampe für die Baumstämme aus Holz aufgebaut.

Somit fehlt nur noch die Begrünung des Bodens aus verschiedenen FineTurfs von Noch/Woodland und Grasmatten von Busch.

Als Kleber kam verdünnter Weißleim zum Einsatz. Ich habe versucht die Begrünung zum Hintergrund passend auszuführen. Ich denke es ist mir ganz gut gelungen.

Damit wäre schon die zweite Micro-Anlage dieses Jahr gebaut und abgeschlossen… Nun wird es aber wirklich langsam Zeit für die Gartenbahn-Saison ;-)

Grüße, Gerd

[YPLC] The „Yellow Pine Lumber Company“

Posted by Gerd on Dienstag, 25 Mai 2021 with 4 Comments

Hallo Waldbahnfreunde,

um euch den Überraschungseffekt nicht gänzlich zu nehmen, gibt’s schon heute die Präsentation der fertigen Anlage. Viel Spaß!!

Die Yellow Pine Lumber Co. betrieb 2 Waldbahnstrecken von Hoffman in North Carolina aus in die umliegenden Kiefernwälder der Sandhills. 1894 wurde die erste Strecke von Hoffman aus in Richtung Süden gebaut. Der Streckenverlauf ist noch heute als Forststraße nachvollziehbar. Diese Waldbahn betrieb eine von nur zwei Shay-Lokomotiven mit 30″-Spurweite in dieser Region. Daher habe ich sie als Vorbild für meine Modell-Waldbahn ausgewählt.

Meine Kleinanlage ist wie immer nur dem Vorbild angelehnt und kein Nachbau realer Gegebenheiten.

Grüße, Gerd

[YLPC] Da fehlt doch noch ein Wasserturm

Posted by Gerd on Dienstag, 18 Mai 2021 with 2 Comments

Hallo Leute, als ich munter am Begrünen war kam mir in den Sinn, daß hier noch ein Wasserturm fehlt. Klar könnte man faul sagen „Ach der, der steht außerhalb der Platte“, aber wo bleibt da der Bastelspaß. Also habe ich mir aus der Restekiste einige Hölzer zusammengesucht und meinen Vater gebeten mir seinen On30-Wasserturm-Auslass in […]

[YPLC] Das Sägewerk an seinem Platz

Posted by Gerd on Dienstag, 11 Mai 2021 with 6 Comments

Hallo zum zweiten Teil. Das Sägewerk wurde aus dem ersten Segment platziert. Die Schwellen für die Waldbahnstrecke liegen auch bereits im Sand. Nun können die weiteren Details platziert werden. Das Dach wurde mit 0.4mm Sperrholz und Teerpappe gedeckt. Wie schon im ersten Teil erläutert, möchte ich eine Waldbahn in den ersten Betriebsmonaten darstellen, daher sind […]

[YPLC] Ein neues Waldbahn-Abenteuer in H0e

Posted by Gerd on Dienstag, 4 Mai 2021 with 2 Comments

Hallo Waldbahnfreunde, nach langem Grübeln und Verwerfen habe ich nun endlich einen Plan für eine Timber-Tramroad-Anlage, auf der ich meine kleine Toma-Shay einsetzen kann. Vorgesehen sind drei Segmente und eine möglichst umfassende Darstellung einer jungen Waldbahn in den Carolina Sandhills im späten 19. Jahrhundert. Den Anfang macht heute das Segment mit dem Sägewerk. Von Woodland […]

[WBE] Das neue Modul ist fertig

Posted by Gerd on Dienstag, 6 März 2018 with 9 Comments

Hallo Waldbahnfreunde, pünktlich zur Modellbahnausstellung in Sinsheim diese Woche wurde das neue Modul fertiggestellt. Es fehlte noch der Hintergrund und hier und da ein wenig Ausstattung. Nun bin ich im wesentlichen mit dem Werk zufrieden. Nun muß ich noch schnell die Transportkiste bauen und dann geht’s am Freitag nach Sinsheim. Ich würde mich freuen den […]

[WBE] Detailskram und viele viele Bretter

Posted by Gerd on Dienstag, 27 Februar 2018 with 5 Comments

Puhh… das schlimmste ist wohl geschafft. Nachdem ich in der letzten Woche die Landschaft fertig gestaltet habe, konnte ich in dieser Woche auch die Details rings ums Sägewerk abschließen. Auch das Namensschild wurde gedruckt und eingesetzt. Für die Bretterstapel wurden Leisten aus Balsaholz und Furnier geschnitten. Die Stapel sind dann Brett für Brett zusammengeklebt worden. […]

[WBE] Stauwehr, Wald und Gräser…

Posted by Gerd on Dienstag, 20 Februar 2018 with 6 Comments

Hallo liebe Waldbahnfreunde, in den vergangenen Tagen habe ich das Stauwehr aus Messingprofilen und Holz nachgebaut und in den Wasserkanal eingesetzt. Im Anschluß ging es gleich ans Setzen der Bäume. Die Zeit wird langsam knapp… Am nächsten Abend wurde zugleich mit der Detail-Begrünung weiter gemacht. Auch dies nimmt ein paar Stunden Zeit in Anspruch, aber […]

[WBE] Schotter und erstes Grün

Posted by Gerd on Dienstag, 13 Februar 2018 with 2 Comments

Hallo Waldbahnfreunde, schon wieder ist eine Woche um. In den vergangenen Tagen habe ich die Gleise geschottert. Dazu verwende ich eine Mischung aus verschiedenen Noch-Modellschotter-Sorten, sowie Sand und feinem grünen Turf. Der Schotter wird trocken aufgebracht, danach mit Franzbranntwein oder Melissengeist durchfeuchtet. Dazu verwende ich eine Nasensprayflasche, die sehr fein zerstäubt und ausreichend Abstand. Der […]

[WBE] Die Landschaft wächst

Posted by Gerd on Dienstag, 6 Februar 2018 with 5 Comments

Hallo, schon wieder ist eine Woche um. Nachdem die Gleise und Elektrik abgeschlossen waren, wurden die Gleise mittels Airbrush gealtert, die Schwellen mit einem Drybrush hervorgehoben. Für das Gelände verwende ich wieder eine Hartschaumplatte aus der Hausisolierung. Die Stücke werden mit Heißkleber aufgeklebt und mit einer Drahbürste im Akkubohrer in Form gefräst. Das geht binnen […]