First page of the archive.

[YPLC] Final scenery on the microlayout.

Posted by Gerd on Tuesday, 1 June 2021 with 3 Comments

Hi folks,

after the video presentation of last week, here’s the final building log of this micro layout. Each segment is 75mm wide and the backdrop 60mm high, while the track length is approx 3′. To make the backdrop, I searched the internet for a good photo of sandhill forests. With simple graphic tools, I made a long backscene by copy/paste and mirror-function. The backdrop is than printed on sticker paper on a color laser printer to be glued to the backdrop.

Small hills on the layout are created with foam and spackle. The lower portion was milled into the 8mm thick baseboard.

After a coat of acrylic paint, I glued the ties in place and covered them immediately with sand. I use white glue for this step. Further layers of sand are glued down with water/whiteglue-mixture. The rails themself are added once the ground cover was finished. I also sanded the ties flat on top for smooth operation of the log train.

The rails are made from 1×1.5mm basswood and glued down with super glue every 4th tie. I made small gauges from brass to ensure the correct gauge of 9mm.

To add more interesting to the scenery, I made some relief trees from Woodland branches on real wood logs. The stumps are also Woodland white metal castings. With the relief trees, the layout gained more depth. It’s also nice to watch the train passing underneath the leaves.

At the right end of the line, I installed a log deck from timbers and logs.

Finally, I added the vegetation from different FineTurfs and grasses, made by Woodland and Busch.

I used water/whiteglue mixture to glue the turf down and regular glue for bushes and grass. I spend effort to blend the vegetation into the same colors as used on the backdrop.

Well, this was my second Microlayout in 2021. Now it’s time to get back to the larger scales. There’s a full list of ideas and a well filled parts-box on the shelf. At least, the warmer weather calls for mode garden railroading ;-)

Cheers, Gerd

[YPLC] The “Yellow Pine Lumber Company”

Posted by Gerd on Tuesday, 25 May 2021 with 4 Comments

Howdy folks,

as this layout features some special feature, I decided to present you the final layout today. Once you know the final details, this movie might become somewhat unspectacular. Enjoy!!

The Yellow Pine Lumber Co. was founded in 1894 at Hoffman in North Carolina. The railroad operated two lines. The first one down into the south, later a new line to the north east was build. The original ROW is still visible in form of roads today. This railroad operated on the rare gauge of 30″ and owned one of only two 30″-gauge Shays in the Sandhills region. Therefore, this was a perfect match for my little Toma Shay.

As usual, my micro layout is dedicated to the prototype, but no accurate model of any prototype situation.

Cheers, Gerd

[YLPC] Scratchbuild Water tower

Posted by Gerd on Tuesday, 18 May 2021 with 2 Comments

Hi folks, while adding landscape scenery, I came to the idea to add a small water tower for the Shay locomotive. I collected some scrap wood and called my dad to 3D print his On30 water spout in half size. Base of the tank is piece of round wood, bored on the lathe to get […]

[YLPC] Sawmill second part

Posted by Gerd on Tuesday, 11 May 2021 with 6 Comments

Welcome back to the second part. The sawmill got placed on the first segment. The ties for the further tramroad are also placed into the sandy ground of the Sandhills. With the mill in place, I started to add the final components and details. To add the roofs, I used 0.4mm plywood instead of cardboard […]

[YPLC] A new timber railroad adventure just begins

Posted by Gerd on Tuesday, 4 May 2021 with 2 Comments

Hi folks, after many ideas and withdrawn plans, I finally found a way to build a timber-tramroad layout to run my little Toma-Shay. The layout is designed in 3 segments and will show a fresh started logging operation in the late 19th centuray, out in the Carolina Sandhills. I found an old diecast kit of […]

[YPLC] Shay “Gopher”

Posted by Gerd on Tuesday, 23 March 2021 with 5 Comments

Hi folks, short update from my projects. Not much done, but at least, the tiny Toma Shay got named “Gopher” inspired by Shay c/n433. I had ideas to build a small layout for this loco, but non of the plans could convince me by now or at least, were to large for my space. So […]

[YPLC] Toma Shay – part 4 – an untold secret

Posted by Gerd on Tuesday, 9 March 2021 with 1 Comment

Well, some may have wondered about last weeks update, others already got an idea what I did. Here’s the 4th part of my tiny Shay loco, showing you a little untold secret ;-) The Toma Shay is factory equipped with a small coreless motor. I meassured the current draw of this motor, which is 6-7mA […]

[YPLC] A test track of special kind

Posted by Gerd on Sunday, 7 March 2021 with 1 Comment

Hello folks, time for a new update. I did some research on 13ton open cab Shays in the past weeks and where they were used. Doing so, I found a couple of such locos in North Carolina, running into the Carolina Sandhills to get timber, turpentine and tar from pine trees. A very interesting detail […]

[YPLC] Toma Shay – part 3

Posted by Gerd on Thursday, 4 March 2021 (Comments Closed)

Hi folks, the tiny Toma Shay is finished. Beside the firewood pile and crew figures, I added obligatory tools and clutter to the runboards. I also spend a light wash-weathering. As this loco was build in 1890 and will be used in its early years, there’s no heavy weathering needed. As a special detail, I […]

[YPLC] Toma Shay – part 2

Posted by Gerd on Sunday, 28 February 2021 with 2 Comments

Hi folks, I’m so sorry, but the assembly was so joyful, I once missed again to take progress photos. I hope the few photos below can give you some ideas of the details. I’m still amazed by the boiler back head detail. Sure, this is an open cab loco, so the back head is visible […]

First page of the Yellow Pine Lbr.Co. archive.

[YPLC] Die finale Ausgestaltung der Anlage

Posted by Gerd on Dienstag, 1 Juni 2021 with 3 Comments

Hallo Leute,

nach dem Video von letzter Woche möchte ich heute die restlichen Arbeiten an der kleinen Anlage zeigen. Die einzelnen Segmente sind 75mm tief und die Kulisse 60mm hoch, bei einer Streckenlänge von ca 920m. Für den Hintergrund habe ich mir im Internet ein geeignetes Bild gesucht und am PC durch Kopieren und Spiegeln zu einer langen Kulisse zusammengefügt. Diese Kulisse wurde dann mit einem Farb-Laserdrucker auf Etikettenbögen gedruckt und auf die Kulisse aufgeklebt.

Für die Landschaft wurden kleine Hügel aus Styrodur aufgeklebt und mit Spachtelmasse überzogen. Die kleine Vertiefung wurde in die 8mm starke Bodenplatte eingefräst.

Der Grundanstrich wurde mit Abtönfarben aufgetragen. Danach folgte das Aufkleben der Schwellen und der ersten Lage von feinem Sand. Weiterer Sand wurde dann mit Wasser/Weißleim-Gemisch verklebt. Die Schienenprofile wurden erst nach dem Aufkleben des Sandes montiert. Zuvor wurden die Schwellen nochmal auf gleiche Höhe geschliffen.

Zum Verlegen der Gleise aus 1×1,5mm Lindenholzleisten habe ich mir einfach Spurlehren aus Messing angefertigt. Die Schienen sind alle 3-4 Schwellen mit Sekundenkleber verklebt.

Für den Landschaftsbau kam mir die Idee Relief-Bäume vor die Kulisse zu stellen. So fährt der Zug unter dem Laubdach hindurch und die Anlage bekommt deutlich mehr Tiefe. Die Baumstümpfe stammen ebenfalls von Woodland, ebenso die Äste und das Grün. Die Stämme kommen aus dem Garten.

Am rechten Streckenende wurde noch die Verladerampe für die Baumstämme aus Holz aufgebaut.

Somit fehlt nur noch die Begrünung des Bodens aus verschiedenen FineTurfs von Noch/Woodland und Grasmatten von Busch.

Als Kleber kam verdünnter Weißleim zum Einsatz. Ich habe versucht die Begrünung zum Hintergrund passend auszuführen. Ich denke es ist mir ganz gut gelungen.

Damit wäre schon die zweite Micro-Anlage dieses Jahr gebaut und abgeschlossen… Nun wird es aber wirklich langsam Zeit für die Gartenbahn-Saison ;-)

Grüße, Gerd

[YPLC] The „Yellow Pine Lumber Company“

Posted by Gerd on Dienstag, 25 Mai 2021 with 4 Comments

Hallo Waldbahnfreunde,

um euch den Überraschungseffekt nicht gänzlich zu nehmen, gibt’s schon heute die Präsentation der fertigen Anlage. Viel Spaß!!

Die Yellow Pine Lumber Co. betrieb 2 Waldbahnstrecken von Hoffman in North Carolina aus in die umliegenden Kiefernwälder der Sandhills. 1894 wurde die erste Strecke von Hoffman aus in Richtung Süden gebaut. Der Streckenverlauf ist noch heute als Forststraße nachvollziehbar. Diese Waldbahn betrieb eine von nur zwei Shay-Lokomotiven mit 30″-Spurweite in dieser Region. Daher habe ich sie als Vorbild für meine Modell-Waldbahn ausgewählt.

Meine Kleinanlage ist wie immer nur dem Vorbild angelehnt und kein Nachbau realer Gegebenheiten.

Grüße, Gerd

[YLPC] Da fehlt doch noch ein Wasserturm

Posted by Gerd on Dienstag, 18 Mai 2021 with 2 Comments

Hallo Leute, als ich munter am Begrünen war kam mir in den Sinn, daß hier noch ein Wasserturm fehlt. Klar könnte man faul sagen „Ach der, der steht außerhalb der Platte“, aber wo bleibt da der Bastelspaß. Also habe ich mir aus der Restekiste einige Hölzer zusammengesucht und meinen Vater gebeten mir seinen On30-Wasserturm-Auslass in […]

[YPLC] Das Sägewerk an seinem Platz

Posted by Gerd on Dienstag, 11 Mai 2021 with 6 Comments

Hallo zum zweiten Teil. Das Sägewerk wurde aus dem ersten Segment platziert. Die Schwellen für die Waldbahnstrecke liegen auch bereits im Sand. Nun können die weiteren Details platziert werden. Das Dach wurde mit 0.4mm Sperrholz und Teerpappe gedeckt. Wie schon im ersten Teil erläutert, möchte ich eine Waldbahn in den ersten Betriebsmonaten darstellen, daher sind […]

[YPLC] Ein neues Waldbahn-Abenteuer in H0e

Posted by Gerd on Dienstag, 4 Mai 2021 with 2 Comments

Hallo Waldbahnfreunde, nach langem Grübeln und Verwerfen habe ich nun endlich einen Plan für eine Timber-Tramroad-Anlage, auf der ich meine kleine Toma-Shay einsetzen kann. Vorgesehen sind drei Segmente und eine möglichst umfassende Darstellung einer jungen Waldbahn in den Carolina Sandhills im späten 19. Jahrhundert. Den Anfang macht heute das Segment mit dem Sägewerk. Von Woodland […]

[YPLC] Shay „Gopher“

Posted by Gerd on Dienstag, 23 März 2021 with 5 Comments

Hallo Waldbahnfreunde, es war wieder viel los und ich bin nur zu wenig gekommen. Die kleine Toma Shay wurde auf den Namen „Gopher“ (Erd- bzw. Taschenhörnchen) getauft, in Anlehnung an Shay cn433. Ich hatte mir auch erste Gedanken zu einer kleinen Anlage passend zur Shay gemacht, aber alle bisherigen Pläne konnten mich nicht überzeugen oder […]

[YPLC] Toma Shay – Teil 4 – Die unerzählte Kleinigkeit

Posted by Gerd on Dienstag, 9 März 2021 with 1 Comment

Tach Waldbahnfreunde, so mancher wird sich letzte Woche gewundert haben, manch anderer kam von selbst schon drauf. Hier folgt nun der vierte Teil zur Toma Shay und einer kleinen Besonderheit, die ich euch bisher vorenthalten habe ;-) Die kleine Toma Shay wird ab Werk von einem kleinen Glockenankermotor angetrieben. Im Test ergab sich eine reguläre […]

[YPLC] Ein ganz besonderes Testgleis

Posted by Gerd on Sonntag, 7 März 2021 with 1 Comment

Sooo, heute wird’s mal wieder besonders verrückt. Seit ich die kleine Shay bestellt habe, habe ich mich natürlich auch mit Vorbildern der 13ton-Klasse beschäftigt. In welchem Zeitraum wurden sie gebaut, wo und wie eingesetzt. Dabei habe ich ein paar interessante Kuriositäten gefunden. Besonders reizvoll fand ich die frühen Waldbahnen in den Carolina Sandhills. Rings um […]

[YPLC] Toma Shay – Teil 3

Posted by Gerd on Donnerstag, 4 März 2021 (Comments Closed)

Hallo Waldbahnfreunde die kleine Toma-Shay ist fertig ;-) Neben den obligatorischen Kleinteilen und Werkzeugen auf dem Umlauf habe ich zwei Preiser-Figuren und eine Feuerholzladung ergänzt. Die Lok hat zudem ein sehr leichtes Weathering mit verschiedenen Washes erhalten. Die Lok wurde ca. 1890 gebaut und soll in ihren ersten Betriebsjahren dargestellt werden. Als kleines Highlight habe […]

[YPLC] Toma Shay – Teil 2

Posted by Gerd on Sonntag, 28 Februar 2021 with 2 Comments

Hallo Freunde, was soll ich sagen. Der Bau hat so viel Spaß gemacht, ich wollte gar nicht mehr aufhören. Und wieder mal war die Handykamera zwar immer mit in der Waldbahnwerkstatt, aber benutzt habe ich sie kaum. Ich hoffe ihr könnt euch dennoch an den folgenden Bildern erfreuen. Am meisten beeindruckt hat mich der Kessel […]